

John C. Spiker, Sr. Excellence in Life Safety Educator of the Year Call for Nominations

Nominations Due: Friday, August 4, 2023

JOHN C. SPIKER, SR. dedicated fifty- two years of fire service in Anne Arundel County, serving in both a volunteer and career capacity. He was a great asset to the fire service. Mr. Spiker served as the AACVFA Fire Prevention Chairperson and was the driving force behind the acquisition of Anne Arundel County's first Fire Safety House. John was an advocate for fire prevention educational programs. In addition, he was instrumental in the installation of smoke alarms for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing citizens of Anne Arundel County and the surrounding areas. The Mid-Atlantic Life Safety Committee unanimously voted to rename the Excellence in Life Safety Educator of the Year Award in honor of JOHN C. SPIKER, SR.

Eligibility & Selection Criteria

Nominees must:

- Have three (3) or more years of experience in public fire and/or life safety;
- Have made significant contributions in fire and/or life safety programs, which identify measurable achieved outcomes;
- Serve communities within the Mid-Atlantic region;
- Be an employee, member, or volunteer, in good standing, of a fire, emergency medical service, police, health, educational, government, or related organization.

Individual and group nominations are accepted.

Nominations

- Nominees are accepted by the Mid Atlantic Life Safety Conference Committee.
- Nominations are accepted until Friday, August 4, 2023
- Nomination package consist of answering five (5) questions and submitting any supporting documentation.
- Nominations must be received through the nomination portal.

Visit the Mid Atlantic Life Safety Conference website (www.midatlanticlifesafetyconference.com) to learn more and access the nomination portal.

Awardee will be announced at the 64th Annual Mid Atlantic Life Safety Conference, Tuesday, September 19, 2023

Patricia Evertt 2022
Burton Clark 2021
Luisa C. Ferreira 2019
Bruce Bouch 2018
Kimberly Smith 2017
James Resnick 2016
Sherry Soper 2015
Christine Flanagan 2014
Evelyn Graf 2013
Teresa Crisman 2012

PAST AWARDEES

Peggy Webb 2011 Kevin Williams 2010 Debbie Gartrell-Kemp 2009 Janet Kiefler 2008 Faron Taylor 2007 Ray Ryan 2006 Scott Stokes 2005 Debbie Gartrell-Kemp 2004 Jane Huffman 2003 Don Adams 2002 Shelley Frye 2001 James Jarboe 2000 Becky Spicer 1999 Judy White 1998 Dennis Beard 1997 Larry Woltz 1996 Robert Thomas 1995 Mike Weller 1994 Mary Marchone 1993

Nominate Today: www.midatlanticlifesafetyconference.com Contact spiker.award@fabscom.org for additional information